Herb and Lettuce Update

Wow, it’s been a while, since I posted, and a lot has changed.

The aerogarden lettuce has all been harvested and eaten. It was pretty good but I think I’m just not that into salad in the winter. I may try the lettuce again in the summer, when it’s too hot for lettuce outside, but I tend to want to eat more salad.

The Kapoor tulsi grew really well. It was surprisingly short, but it had these really pretty pink flower spikes. I think I may try growing it outside as an annual once it gets warm.

Flowers on Kapoor tulsi.

The two basil containers and the thyme are doing well. They seem slower growing, But overall, they’re doing fine. I should definitely start using them more in my cooking. I think I’ve been a bit scared to. I tend to be nervous about using my home-grown herbs in cooking for some reason, even though a bit of pruning is probably good for the plants overall.

The aerogarden currently has 3 pods of thyme seedlings, 2 pods of basil seedlings, and one pod of just barely germinated rosemary. The rosemary is in a pod that I tried basil in but for some reason it died after germinating. Not sure what that was about. But the aerogarden herbs all seem to be doing well and I’m glad the rosemary actually germinated.

Herb seedlings in the aerogarden.

Leave a comment

I’m the Plant Goblin

Welcome to my garden blog.

Discover more from Plant Goblin

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started